More about Monica McInerney


Meet the Author with Fremantle City Library as part of the Big Book Club

From Monica’s official site:

Australian-born Monica McInerney is the author of the best-selling novels Family Baggage, The Alphabet Sisters, Spin the Bottle, Upside Down Inside Out and A Taste for It, published internationally and in translation. Her articles and short stories have appeared in newspapers, magazines and anthologies in Australia and Ireland.

In 2006, Monica was the main ambassador for the Australian Government’s Books Alive national reading campaign, for which she wrote a limited edition novella called Odd One Out. Her new novel, Those Faraday Girls (The Faraday Girls in the US) is being published in Australia, New Zealand, Ireland and the USA in late 2007, and in the UK and other countries in early 2008.


Those Faraday Girls

As a child, Maggie Faraday grew up in a lively, unconventional household in Tasmania, with her young mother, four very different aunts and eccentric grandfather. With her mother often away, all four aunts took turns looking after her – until, just weeks before Maggie’s sixth birthday, a shocking event changed everything.

Twenty years on, Maggie is living alone in New York City when a surprise visit from her grandfather brings a revelation and a proposition to reunite the family. As the Faradays gather in Ireland, Maggie begins to realise that the women she thought she knew so intimately all have something to hide…

Those Faraday Girls is a rich and complex story full of warmth, humour and unforgettable women. Spanning several countries and thirty years, it is a deeply moving novel about family secrets and lies – and how the memories that bind us together can also keep us apart.

Meet the Author with Fremantle City Library
Thursday 18th October
6:30pm – 8:00pm
Town Hall Reception Room (at the back of the Town Hall, entrance is up the staircase)

To make a booking call 9432 9766, or email