Events

Living Libraries

Here’s some more info on the “books” that you can borrow during the Living Libraries session on the 7th of October, 3-7pm.  

For bookings, please contact the Department of Health on 9222 4099 or email mentalhealthreception.royalst@health.wa.gov.au

Hey! Who’s suffering with Schizophrenia: a guide for carers – looking after yourself

“I come from New Zealand but have spent over half my life living in England and Australia. I am married with 2 children and work as an Activities coordinator/therapist in Aged Care.

My eldest son was diagnosed with schizophrenia at the age of 17 (he is now 26) and I would like to share the journey of recovery, acceptance and give hope to the many carers and family memberswho are painfully affected with the caring for a loved one with this mental illness.”

Sessions: 3.00-5.00pm

 

The causes and prevention of human suffering: My 30-year observation as a “psychological black box investigator”

“I’m a Clinical Psychologist and have worked extensively with members of the public, as well as with violent, sexual and property and order offenders, and have been a counsellor, educator, researcher and policy adviser in the field of adoptions.”

Sessions: 3.00-7.00pm

 

Fascinating the Good, the Bad and Me: Living with major depression

“I have 2 boys (24 and 27 years old). I enjoy oil pointing, photography and writing. I’m currently participating in a writers group. I ride a 125cc scooter and love going around on it!”

Sessions: 3.00-7.00pm

 

