Book Club

Thursday Bookclub for July


The Thursday Bookclub book for July is The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini. The bookclub will meet to discuss on Thursday July 21 at 2.30 pm – 4.30 pm. Feel free to leave your comments in this post.

If you would like to join the Thursday Bookclub, email frelib@fremantle.wa.gov.au or phone 9432 9766.

One thought on “Thursday Bookclub for July

  1. Sorry not to be with you again! I am still in the UK where the temperature seldom rises above 17 degrees even though it is allegedly the summer!
    I had read the Kite Runner a few years ago and remembered that it was very good but couldn’t remember enough about the book to comment on it so I re-read it recently. I was surprised at how it all came back to me as I read it but not enough to spoil the suspense. I was enthralled and probably more so than the first time i read it. It is fascinating and harrowing at the same time. Interesting to have a male view of Afghanistan -( so different from the Bookseller of Kabul for example) – such a different world m ours (and we persist in interfering in it).
    It was quite thrilling at times and the main characters were portrayed brilliantly. I liked the way that love was shown in different ways by the different characters. Hassan’s loyalty and altruism were outstanding.
    I did remember that the boys were brothers but if anything this made reading the book more interesting. I did wonder how much of the book was autobiographical. Now can’t wait to read a Thousand Splendid Suns.
    Best wishes to you all
    Alison

Comments are closed.