2016 Ned Kelly Awards for best Australian crime writing


The Ned Kelly Awards are Australia’s oldest and most prestigious prizes honouring Australian crime fiction and true crime writing. Listed below are the shortlists for Best Fiction, Best True Crime, and Best First Fiction.

Best Fiction
Mark Dapin, R&R (Penguin Random House)
Garry Disher, The Heat (Text Publishing)
Candice Fox, Fall (Penguin Random House)
Adrian McKinty, Rain Dogs (Allen & Unwin)
Barry Maitland, Ash Island (Text Publishing)
Dave Warner, Before it Breaks (Fremantle Press)

Best True Crime
Gideon Haigh, Certain Admissions (Penguin Random House)
Kate Kyriacou, The Sting (Echo Publishing)
Martin McKenzie-Murray, A Murder Without Motive (Scribe)
Rebecca Poulson, Killing Love (Simon & Schuster)
Mark Tedeschi, Kidnapped (Simon & Schuster)

Best First Fiction
Tania Chandler, Please Don’t Leave Me Here (Scribe)
J M Green, Good Money (Scribe)
Mark Hollands, Amplify (Self-Published)
Gary Kemble, Skin Deep (Echo Publishing)
Iain Ryan, Four Days (Broken River Books)
Emma Viskic, Resurrection Bay (Echo Publishing)

The winners will be announced on August 28. For more information, visit the Australian Crime Writers website.